Menu
Home Page Cassa

Great Abington Primary School

Meet the Governors

Welcome to the Governors' section of the website. 

 

The Governing Body consists of local people who have an active interest in the school as parents, staff, or as members of the local community. Parent Governors are elected by parents and other governors are either appointed by the local authority or co-opted on the recommendation of the governors. It is a voluntary role and we are always keen to encourage new governors.

 

The Governors’ role at the school is to help make the strategic decisions to move the school forward. In addition, the Governors scrutinize the work of the school, particularly the standards of achievement, to ensure the school is effectively educating the pupils and preparing them for their futures. We do this both through our regular full governors’ meetings or as committees and by regular visits into school to look at different aspects of the curriculum.  In order to carry out our role effectively, we have separate committees to oversee the leadership and management of the school. These include Resources, and Learning Teaching & Standards.


Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured and what we have worked with the school on over the last year. 

The Governing Body at Great Abington Primary School

Helen Howe

Chair of Governors

helen.howe@greatabington.school

Mark Carter

Vice Chair of Governors

mark.carter@greatabington.school

Tony Orgee

Chair: Learning Teaching

& Standards

tony.orgee@greatabington.school

Will Earl

Full Governor

will.earl@greatabington.school

Rachel Clay

Full Governor

rachel.clay@greatabington.school

Sally Phipps

Full Governor

sally.phipps@greatabington.school

Caroline Barker

Full Governor

(Staff)

office@greatabington.school

Jane Thirkettle

Associate Governor

(Human Resources)

jane.thirkettle@greatabington.school

Jade Ooi

Associate Governor

(Finance)

jade.ooi@greatabington.school

Sam Stevens

Full Governor

sam.stevens@greatabington.school

 

Iain Sainsbury

Chair: Resources

iain.sainsbury@greatabington.school

 

Guy Underwood

Full Governor

(Headteacher)

office@greatabington.school

Alan Cooke

Full Governor

(Health & Safety)

alan.cooke@greatabington.school

Antonia Wells

Full Governor

antonia.wells@greatabington.school

 

Matthew Norton

Full Governor

matthew.norton@greatabington.school

 

 

 

Elena Gontarz

Full Governor

elena.gontarz@greatabington.school

 

Emma Presland

Clerk of Governors

clerk.governors@greatabington.school

 

 

 

 

Top